March 15, 2018


We are so excited to announce the 5 films in competition Play-Doc 2018 (all of them, spanish premiere):

“The Waldheim Waltz” (2018). Best documentary film Berlinale – Berlin International Film Festival 2018 The film shows the tangled web that former UN Secretary General Kurt Waldheim became ensnared in by concealing two years of his wartime biography. The Waldheim Waltz sets the Waldheim affair in a bigger international political context, yet 30 years on, it is dauntingly time.

The portuguese director Leonor Teles will bring “Terra Franca” (2018) to Play-Doc, a portrait of a fisherman on Tagus river. It wil be the spanish premiere just a few days after world premiere at Cinema du Reel (Paris). Leonor Teles was awarded the short film Golden Bear at Berlin 2016 with “Balada de um Batráquio”.

“Lamaland” (Part 1, 2018) directed by Pablo Pigg was made in Nueva Germania, Paraguay, with Friedrich and Max Josef Schweikhart, direct survivors of the Utopian community imagined by Richard Wagner and established in the south of the Amazonia at the end of the 19th century by Elisabeth Förster-Nietzsche. European premiere at International Film Festival Rotterdam – IFFR followed by spanish premiere at Play Doc

“Going South” (2018) by Dominic Gagnon is the second film of a tetralogy that explores the four cardinal directions on the Internet. As a filmmaker, installation and performance artist, Dominic Gagnon works with non-orthodox images taken from the Internet. Last year Play-Doc Festival dedicated a retrospective to his work.

“Les unwanted de Europa” (2018) is directed by Fabrizio Ferraro and produced by Lluís Miñarro. Along the “Lister Route”, in February 1939 the refugees of the Spanish Civil War advance slowly. Just one year later another group of “unwanted” embarks the same route through the Pyrenees but this time in the opposite direction. It is the population of anti-fascists, foreigners and Jews fleeing from occupied and collaborationist France.The philosopher Walter Benjamin is one of them.

Film festival jury members are: Roger Koza, film critic, writer and programmer, Caroline Maleville, programmer at the Cinémathèque Française and Chiara Marañón, programming director at MUBI.