Competitive programs

International Competition

Galicia Competition

International Jury

Ruth Beckermann

Ruth Beckermann was born in Vienna where she also spent her childhood. In 1978 she (co-)founded the distribution company filmladen in which she was active for seven years. In this period Ruth Beckermann started to make films and to write books. Since 1985 she works as a writer and filmmaker.

Among her films are The Paper Bridge and East of War. Her film The Dreamed Ones (2016) was selected at many international festivals and won several awards. The Waldheim Waltz premiered at the Berlin Festival (2018) and won the award for best documentary. In 2019 Ruth conceived the multimedia-installation Joyful Joyce for the Salzburg Festival.

Her film Mutzenbacher premiered at the Berlin Festival (Encounters) 2022 and won the award for Best Film.

Bette Gordon

A pioneer in American Independent Cinema, Bette Gordon is known for her bold explorations of themes related to sexuality, desire and power. Gordon’s acclaimed Variety has become a classic indie film of the 1980’s. Her other feature films include Luminous Motion (2000), The Drowning (2017), and Handsome Harry (2010).

Gordon’s films have shown at major international festivals including Cannes, Berlin, Toronto, Locarno, Vienna, Warsaw, Rotterdam and Tribeca.  In 2021, she was invited as guest of honor to the world renowned Lumiere Film Festival to screen a newly restored Variety, which was also re-released theatrically in the UK with screenings at The British Film Institute in London. Gordon has also been the recent subject of a highly praised retrospective on the Criterion Channel.

Benjamín Mirguet

Benjamin is an editor, consultant, director, festival curator. As an editor, he was involved in films such as Batalla en el cielo (Carlos Reygadas, Cannes Competition), Meteora (Spiros Stathoulopoulos, Berlinale Competition), Dau (Ilya Khrzhanovski, Berlinale), The Sky Trembles and the Earth is Afraid… (Ben Rivers, Locarno), Il Buco (Michelangelo Frammartino, Venise Jury Award 2021) and Triangle of Sadness (Ruben Östlund, Cannes Palme d’Or 2022).

He has been involved as consultant editor for First Cut Lab since the very first edition in 2015. As a festival programmer, he was member of the selection committee for the Cannes Directors’ Fortnight and also collaborated with CPH:DOX programming team. He’s developing his first feature film Alfredo Laron.

Galician Jury

José Manuel Sande

Historian, film writer and cultural programmer, Sande has written articles for various publications, ranging from Luzes to Caymán. Film Notebooks; Member of the Spanish Association of Film Historians (AEHC), his academic texts focus on the history of Galician and Spanish cinema, the relationships between film and literature or documentary practice. Founder of initiatives such as the television channel Galicia Año Cero, the magazine Luzes or the blog Acto de Primavera, which would coin the term “Novo Cinema Galego”.

Ana Estévez Lavandeira

With a degree in Geography and History specializing in Museology and a Master's Degree in Contemporary History, she coordinated the Didactic Project of the Antonio Fraguas Foundation. She has developed social and community museology programs such as Olladas sobre o museo or Café da memoria. She is currently responsible for the Department of Education and Cultural Action at the Museo do Pobo Galego. She is also the director of MICE, International Ethnographic Film Festival.

Sérgio Gomes

Executive director and programmer of Porto/Post/Doc: Film & Media Festival, which he co-founded in 2014. He is also a programmer and coordinator of the competition sections and industry activities for Curtas Vila do Conde IFF since 2001. In 2006 he founded BREAKS lda, a Breakbeat/Bass/Tech-Funk music promoter. He has performed in several countries, including Portugal, Spain, France, Italy and Great Britain. Additionally, for more than a decade, he has hosted a radio show on R.U.M. - Radio Universitária do Minho.